coffee conversations

Coffee with Ameena #22

If we were having coffee, I’ld tell you I haven’t stepped out of the four walls of our house within the past two weeks. Still, I am grateful to be comfortable with my life right now. It is not Perfect but I am content. It is easy for us to sit within the comfort of our houses and tell everyone to stay at home, but in all honesty, there are so many people who can’t afford to do that because they live hand to mouth.
If we were having coffee, I’d tell you one of the things I have learnt during this lockdown is “the attitude of gratitude“.

If we were having coffee, I will tell you I have failed at quite a lot of things during the past three weeks we’ve been staying at home. But you know what? I am happy I have failed at something, it means I am actually attempting to do something. Maybe this is me looking at my failures through rose colored lenses, but hey, the world as it is right now is filled with so much sadness and pessimism, a little personal optimism shouldn’t hurt.
If we were having coffee, I’ld want to know if you have failed at any attempt during this stay at home.

Some of my attempts 😅… I would start saving my failures as well.

If we were having coffee, I’ld tell you my friend and I started an online 3days creative writing workshop at the beginning of the stay at home. We’ve had three successful batches so far. It’s been such a fulfilling experience being able to mentor these talented poets and hear their positive feedbacks. I love teaching and poetry is my passion so being able to combine both of them, was just incredible. If we were having coffee, I’ld ask if there is anything you are passionate about.

One of the reviews 😌

If we were having coffee, I’ll tell you, during this period of staying at home, it is important to know yourself. I’ld tell you I have a fleeting mind, I’m constantly alternating between one idea or another. And then added to that mixture, is my procrastination. Hence, in order for me to actually do something, I need an extra push, some tough love. So for me, I need to see those quotes saying “you have 24 hours in a day doing nothing, get your behind off the couch”. I’ld rather hear some tough love than, it’s okay, take your time. This is why I say, you have to know yourself, and different strokes for different folks.

If we were having coffee, I’ll ask if you have ever kept a journal and if you still have one now. I’ll tell you I am back to journaling. I think some things just need to be written down, and for me, it’s like having a discussion with myself. It helps me to keep myself in check, it helps me to sort out my own issues without having to burden someone else with them, it allows me to express myself the best way I know how, through words, and you know what? If I want to tell myself, “girl, you did great today“, I can say that.

If we were having coffee, I’ll tell you our lockdown has been extended for another two weeks. There’s been some vandalism going on in the state following the lockdown, robbery even happened on our street. Some areas have come together and created local vigilante groups. If we were having coffee, I’ll tell you it’s important to stay safe, lock up your houses especially at night, wash your hands, and pray.


See you next week on another coffee date.

Leave a comment